Sarah Pearl '20 Is a Marshall Scholar

The prestigious award will let the physics and environmental studies major study in the U.K.

"I hope to use the Marshall as a starting point for future academic and professional endeavors abroad," says Sarah Pearl '20. (Photo courtesy of Sarah Pearl '20)

Sarah Pearl '20, a double major in environmental studies and physics from Los Angeles, has been named a Marshall Scholar. She will use the scholarship to pursue two years of graduate study in the United Kingdom, at the University of Reading and the University of Oxford.

At Dartmouth, she was a James O. Freedman Presidential Scholar for Robyn Millan, the Margaret Anne and Edward Leede '49 Distinguished Professor of Physics, assisting Millan's research on high-energy particles.

Up to 50 Americans each year are selected for the award, which was created by the U.K. government in 1953 in honor of U.S. Secretary of State George C. Marshall's work to restore Europe in the aftermath of World War II. The program aims to "strengthen the enduring relationship between the British and American peoples, their governments and their institutions," according to the program's website.  Read the full story here...